|
Online and Onsite Computer Repair
|
Bredolab Trojan - Your order has been paid! Parcel NR.2655. |
|
Saturday, 20 February 2010 09:37 |
|
Another variant of the Bredolab trojan is filling email inboxes, this time claiming to be a shipment tracking number from Amazon.
The scan results at virustotal.com show only 40% of antivirus software is currently catching this virus, and it's missed by McAfee.
The email this one comes in has the subject line of:
Your order has been paid! Parcel NR.2655.
The email body contains the following text:
Goodafternoon!
Thank you for shopping at Amazon.com We have successfully received your payment.
Your order has been shipped to your billing address.
You have ordered " Sony VAIO VGC-RT100Y "
You can find your tracking number in attached to the e-mail document.
Print the postal label to get your package.
We hope you enjoy your order! Amazon.com
Note the missing space in the opening "Goodafternoon!" This kind of mistake is a good indication that the email is not legitimate.
I haven't yet analyzed the activity of this virus, but it appears from the scan results that it will install rogue antivirus software, which then pesters you to purchase with many false positives in a fake scan result.
When I've done my analysis, I'll add to this article with the results.
|
|
Last Updated on Saturday, 20 February 2010 09:51 |
|
|
iPhone/Cellular Phone Phishing |
|
Tuesday, 19 January 2010 14:38 |
|
Just when I've written about a new kind of phishing which can bypass pretty much all known anti-phishing methods, along comes not so much another type, but another target.
Rather than targetting bank users, this one is targetting cellphone accounts.
The email I received was an image, designed to look like a text email from Apple. It claimed that registering your phone by following the link would extend your warranty by 1 year.
This is, of course, designed to look exactly like an Apple-themed email would.
When you click on the link in the image, or in fact, anywhere on the image at all, it takes you to a web page with a form on it.
This form, again, is on an Apple themed page, with many links on the page going directly to Apple's website. Undoubtedly, this page formatting code was lifted directly from Apple, and modified slightly to direct your data to the scammer.
The form asks for 4 pieces of information, although probably only 2 are really necessary to the scammer.
The most important one is the IMEI number. This is the number which uniquely identifies your phone to the phone company. Unfortunately, this number can be cloned to a new phone. That's exactly what these phishers will be trying to do, I'd guess.
If they get a legitimate IMEI number, they can clone it to another phone, then burn up your local minutes, or make long distance calls around the world for free, and it won't be noticed for another month, until you get your next phonebill. Add in a couple of weeks or more of haggling with the phone company, and they've probably got two months of free phonecalls.
It could very well be that they're selling these cloned phones on the black market, stating that service is paid for for a number of months.
It's also possible that they would use these cloned phones to listen to your phone conversations, hoping to gain more personal information to use for more serious identity theft, although that would be much more labour intensive than I would think would be worthwhile. |
|
Last Updated on Tuesday, 19 January 2010 15:27 |
|
Wednesday, 12 August 2009 19:46 |
|
The new website is now officially live.
Not all content is currently moved over, but this will be happening in the next day or two.
In the meantime, if you need something that was on the old site, you can access it at
http://oldsite.cbserviceslondon.com.
|
|
Last Updated on Tuesday, 22 September 2009 10:29 |
|
Quality Computer Service - London Ontario |
|
Thursday, 22 October 2009 09:54 |
|
At CB Services, we can fix your computer!
Quality
CB Services is a low-cost, high quality technology service provider. We do this by eliminating the corporate overhead of most larger businesses. When you go to a big box store to get your computer repaired, you pay $80 per hour, of which only $10 goes to the technician. What kind of a technician can you get for $10 an hour?
The rest of your money goes to pay for flashy advertising, multiple layers of managers, and a corporate head office that may not even be in your country.
In the process, business decisions are not made based on what will make the company the most money, but what makes the best technical sense for the customer. CB Services is run by technical expertise, not marketing.
Security
Consider that the number of personal records stolen in data breaches from a company or organization since January 2005 has reached over 150% of the population, and identity theft is at an all time high.
Specializing in data security, CB Services can help ensure that your critical and confidential business data will not be leaked out to identity thieves, or the competition.
In fact, in the entire history of CB Services, no company that's been following our advice for data security has ever had a data breach. How many technology companies can say that?
Convenience
Remote Support: As long as your computer will turn on and connect to the Internet, problems such as spyware and viruses, driver installs, and basic training can be handled with our remote support service. You don't need to take your computer anywhere.
Choice
A leading Linux system builder in London, Ontario, we have technicians certified in Linux, Windows 95/98/Me, and Windows NT/2000/XP, as well as networking, and other high-end information technology requirements. |
|
Last Updated on Thursday, 22 October 2009 10:14 |
|
|
Copyright © 2010 CB Services. All Rights Reserved.
|